Phenomenal Parade

Phenomenal Parade 2019

  • Saturday October 5, 2019
    • Free admission

A poetic, participatory and community-based parade on the streets of Mile End!

The 2nd edition of the Phenomenal Parade will take place Saturday October 5th, 2019, in the afternoon (postponed to the following day in case of rain) on the streets of Mile End. The Parade will wrap up with a musical show for all ages. The festivity will include street artists and marching bands, community organizations and citizen groups, all dressed up in costumes that fit the colors and themes of this 2nd edition.

Infos:

  • Saturday October 5th, 2019, in the afternoon (postponed to the following day in case of rain)
  • Distance from start to finish: 1 km
  • Music show for all ages at the gathering point
  • Free event for all ages, communities and abilities
Parade Phénoménale 2017 — Excerpts

A poetic, participatory and community-based parade on the streets of Mile End

Extravagant, community-based and non-commercial, the Phenomenal Parade is a biannual event, as well as a public and artistic occupation of public space. The Parade’s goal is to offer a grand, creative, colorful and vibrant event to the public — one that is inclusive and open to the participation of all.

The 2nd edition of the Phenomenal Parade will take place Saturday October 5th, 2019, in the afternoon (postponed to the following day in case of rain) on the streets of Mile End. The Parade will wrap up with a musical show for all ages. The festivity will include street artists and marching bands, community organizations and citizen groups, all dressed up in costumes that fit the colors and themes of this 2nd edition:

  • Birds: hues of blue and violet
  • Flowers: hues of red and pink
  • Spirit of the forest: hues of green and brown
  • Steampunk: hues of black and bronze
  • Celestial bodies: hues of yellow and silver
  • Walking museum: all colors
  • Imaginary animals: all colors

This year, Phenomena Festival has once again partnered up with Mile End Fairy Patsy Van Roost to invite citizens to be at the core of the event by joining one of our thematic parade blocks. Community-based organizations, coops and associations will also be taking part in the event. The Phenomenal Parade offers an artistic platform for socially-engaged organizations by inviting them to a moment of poetic and subversive folly. Through a couple of costume-and-accessory-making workshops, participating organizations will explore the creativity of their members within a framework of sharing and togetherness.

Are you interested in participating in the Parade? Here is what you can do to be a part of the event:

As a group

If you are a member of an organization, an association, a community group or a CO-OP that is interested in taking part in one the thematic parade blocks, send us a message at lesfilles@electriques.ca. Send us a description of the organization, the expected number of participants, and the contact information.

As a citizen

Would you like to dress up in a costume and parade down the streets with us on October 5th? Sign up by filling out this form in order to discover the different ways of participating in the Parade, be it alone, with family, friends or neighbors. You can follow us on Facebook and Instagram, and sign up to receive Les Filles électriques’s newsletter. We will be sharing costume-and-accessory making tutorials, as well as inspiring images for costume creations, on our Facebook groups (one group per thematic block) and on our Pinterest page. Whether you are a Mile End or Montréal resident, or you’re simply passing through town, everyone is invited to take part in this unique and poetic event!

As a volunteer

Are you interested in being part of the dream team making sure the 2019 Phenomenal Parade runs smoothly? We are looking for resourceful, versatile and energetic volunteers to help out with a variety of tasks. Sign up by filling out this form and we will contact you thereafter.

Infos:

  • Saturday October 5th, 2019, in the afternoon (postponed to the following day in case of rain)
  • Distance from start to finish: 1 km
  • Music show for all ages at the gathering point
  • Free event for all ages, communities and abilities
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017

A poetic, participatory and community-based parade on the streets of Mile End

Extravagant, community-based and non-commercial, the Phenomenal Parade is a biannual event, as well as a public and artistic occupation of public space. The Parade’s goal is to offer a grand, creative, colorful and vibrant event to the public — one that is inclusive and open to the participation of all.

The Phenomenal Parade had its first edition on October 8th 2017, as a part of the 375 Viaduc project. A parade composed of 300 people walked in total euphoria across the Van Horne Viaduc (where one lane was blocked from traffic) from Saint-Denis street all the way to Saint-Urbain. Citizens, parents, children, young professionals and seniors — all dressed up in homemade costumes, and accompanied by street artists, rollerblading brides and The Van Hornies marching brass band — paraded along the street under the amazed gaze of 800 spectators of all ages gathered on the Viaduc.

The parade was comprised of five thematic blocks divided by colors and themes:

  • Flowers and candy (hues of pink and red)
  • Deep sea spirit: sea creatures, aquatic flora, mermaids, etc. (hues of blue)
  • Ancient Egypt’s Pharaohs, bling bling and golden glamour (hues of yellow and gold)
  • Forest spirit: foliage, fur and animals (hues of green)
  • Wedding dresses and white attire (white)

The parade wrapped up with a family event at the Parc Sans Nom, which included the young musicians of L’Enfant Fort and the Carmagnole Fanfare, followed by a fabulous fire act created by Izza Flambe and the Beaux-Morts-du-Fjord of the AbracadaBOOM Cirkus.

Phenomena Festival partnered up with Patsy Van Roost, the Mile End Fairy, to mobilize residents of neighboring streets. We sent out invitations to neighborhood residents’ letterboxes, encouraging them to create their costume according to the theme assigned to their respective street. Neighbors, families and friends shared a moment of pride and folly. The Santisouk Housing Co-op, home to four-generations of families of Lao origin, took part in one of our theme blocks with much enthusiasm.

Both participants and onlookers appreciated the parade’s innovative and participatory approach, one that shines a light on the magical and poetic aspects of the location itself. We might be so bold as to say that the Phenomenal Parade entered the neighborhood’s collective imaginary. The public’s enthusiasm indicated the extent to which people recognize the quality of a poetic event that not only provokes awe, but also creates connections between people and opens up the public’s imagination.

The 2017 Phenomenal Parade was made possible with the support and partnership of Bell Canada, the Foundation of Greater Montréal, l’arrondissement du Plateau-Mont-Royal, and the Caisse Desjardins des Versants du mont Royal.

Parade Phénoménale

Parade Phénoménale 2019

  • Samedi 5 octobre 2019
    • Entrée libre

Une parade poétique, participative et citoyenne dans les rues du Mile End!

La 2e édition de la Parade Phénoménale aura lieu le samedi 5 octobre 2019 en après-midi (remis au lendemain en cas de pluie) dans les rues du Mile End. La Parade se conclura par un spectacle musical pour tous. La Parade regroupera des artistes de rue, des fanfares, des organismes communautaires et des groupes de citoyens, tous costumés selon les couleurs et les thématiques de cette deuxième édition.

Infos:

  • Samedi le 5 octobre en après-midi (remis au lendemain en cas de pluie)
  • Trajet 1 km
  • Spectacle musical pour tous au point d’arrivée de la Parade
  • Évènement gratuit pour tous âges, milieux, communautés et capacités
Parade Phénoménale 2017 — Extraits

Une Parade poétique, participative et citoyenne dans les rues du Mile End

Extravagante, communautaire et non commerciale, la Parade Phénoménale est un évènement biennal et une occupation citoyenne et artistique de l’espace public. La Parade a pour but d’offrir à la population un évènement d’envergure créatif, coloré, ludique et poétique, mais aussi inclusif qui propose un contexte ouvert pour la participation de tous.

La 2e édition de la Parade Phénoménale aura lieu le samedi 5 octobre 2019 en après-midi (remis au lendemain en cas de pluie) dans les rues du Mile End. La Parade se conclura par un spectacle musical pour tous. La Parade regroupera des artistes de rue, des fanfares, des organismes communautaires et des groupes de citoyens, tous costumés selon les couleurs et les thématiques de cette deuxième édition:

  • Les Oiseaux: teintes de bleu et violet
  • Les Fleurs: teintes de rouge et rose
  • L’Esprit de la forêt: teintes de vert et brun
  • Steampunk: teintes de noir et bronze
  • Les Corps célestes: teintes de jaune et argent
  • Le Musée ambulant: toutes les couleurs
  • Animaux imaginaires: toutes les couleurs

Cette année, le Festival Phénomena s’associe encore une fois à Patsy Van Roost, la fée du Mile End, pour inviter les citoyens à s’intégrer à un cortège de la Parade. Nous convions aussi des organismes communautaires, des coops et des associations à s’impliquer en groupe à la Parade. Nous offrons une tribune artistique à des organismes qui contribuent au bien-être social en leur proposant un moment de folie poétique et subversive. À travers quelques ateliers de fabrication de costumes et accessoires, les organismes participants éveilleront leur créativité dans un esprit convivial et de partage.

Cela vous intéresse de participer à la Parade? Voici comment faire pour devenir partie prenante de l’évènement:

En tant que groupe

Si vous faites partie d’un organisme, d’une association, d’un groupe communautaire, ou d’une coop qui aurait envie de s’intégrer au défilé costumé de la Parade, contactez-nous en envoyant un courriel à lesfilles@electriques.ca. Envoyez-nous une description de l’organisme, le nombre de participants pressentis, et le nom de la personne ressource.

En tant que citoyen

Vous souhaitez vous costumer et venir parader avec nous le 5 octobre? Inscrivez-vous sur ce formulaire pour connaître toutes les possibilités de participation à la Parade que ce soit seul, en famille, avec des amis ou des voisins. Vous pouvez nous suivre sur Facebook et Instagram, et vous abonner à l’infolettre des Filles électriques. Nous partagerons avec vous des tutoriels de costumes et accessoires ainsi que des images inspirantes pour vos créations à travers nos groupes Facebook (un par cortège) et notre page Pinterest. Qu’on soit résidents du Mile End, de Montréal ou de passage en ville, tout le monde est invité à s’impliquer dans cet évènement unique, ludique et poétique!

En tant que bénévole

Ça vous dirait de faire partie de l’équipe de la 2e édition de la Parade Phénoménale? Nous sommes à la recherche de bénévoles débrouillard-e-s, polyvalent-e-s et énergiques afin d’effectuer des tâches et projets variés. Inscrivez-vous sur ce formulaire et nous vous contacterons par la suite.

Infos:

  • Samedi le 5 octobre en après-midi (remis au lendemain en cas de pluie)
  • Trajet 1 km
  • Spectacle musical pour tous au point d’arrivée de la Parade
  • Évènement gratuit pour tous âges, milieux, communautés et capacités
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017
Parade Phénoménale 2017

Une Parade poétique, participative et citoyenne dans les rues du Mile End

Extravagante, communautaire et non commerciale, la Parade Phénoménale est un évènement biennal et une occupation citoyenne et artistique de l’espace public. La Parade a pour but d’offrir à la population un événement d’envergure créatif, coloré, ludique et poétique, mais aussi inclusif qui propose un contexte ouvert pour la participation de tous.

La Parade Phénoménale a connu sa première édition le 8 octobre 2017. Un défilé de plus de 300 personnes a parcouru le viaduc Van Horne (dont 1 voie était fermée dans le cadre du projet Viaduc 375) de la rue Saint-Denis à la rue Saint-Urbain dans l’euphorie totale. Citoyens, parents, enfants, jeunes professionnels et aînés, dans leurs costumes «faits maison», accompagnés d’artistes de rue, de mariées en patins à roulette et des musiciens de la fanfare The Van Hornies, ont défilé sous le regard émerveillé de plus de 800 spectateurs de tous âges réunis tout au long du viaduc.

Le défilé était composé de cinq cortèges répartis par couleurs et thématiques:

  • Fleurs et friandises (teintes de rose et rouge)
  • Esprit des fonds marins: créatures marines, flore aquatique, sirènes, etc. (teintes de bleu)
  • Ancienne Égypte des Pharaons, bling bling et glamour golden (teintes de jaune et or)
  • Esprit de la forêt: feuillage, fourrure et animaux (teintes de vert)
  • Robes de mariée et habits blancs (blanc)

La parade s’est terminée par un spectacle familial au Parc Sans Nom avec les jeunes musiciens de L’Enfant Fort et la Fanfare Carmagnole, suivi d’un fabuleux spectacle de feu concocté par Izza Flambe et les Beaux-Morts-du-Fjord de l’AbracadaBOOM Cirkus.

Le Festival Phénomena s’était allié à Patsy Van Roost, la fée du Mile End, pour mobiliser les citoyens des rues avoisinantes. Des invitations ont été déposées dans les boîtes à lettres des résidents du quartier pour inciter les citoyens à préparer leurs costumes selon le thème assigné à leur rue. Des voisins, des familles et des groupes d’amis ont ainsi partagé ensemble un moment de folie et de fierté. La Coopérative Santisouk, formée d’habitants d’origine laotienne de quatre générations, s’est intégrée à un cortège avec enthousiasme.

Le pari d’une approche participative qui met en valeur la poésie et la magie des lieux a été apprécié et on peut même dire que la Parade Phénoménale est entrée dans l’imaginaire collectif. L’engouement du public a bien démontré à quel point la population sait reconnaître la qualité d’un événement poétique dont le but n’est pas simplement d’impressionner, mais aussi de toucher et faire rêver.

La Parade Phénoménale 2017 a été réalisé grâce à nos partenaires Bell Canada, la Fondation du Grand Montréal, l’arrondissement du Plateau-Mont-Royal, et la Caisse Desjardins des Versants du mont Royal.