Event

Eclectic Rialto

  • Théâtre Rialto
    5723, avenue du Parc
    Saturday October 20, 2018
    2:00 pm to 12:00 pm

10 hours of happening on the Rialto’s 4 stages with nearly sixty artists ranging from 13 to 67 years old. From 2 pm to 10 pm, continuous performances in different rooms of the Rialto. Performance, dance, theatre, modern puppetry, magic, projections, music, digital arts, etc.

10 pm — Concert: Fanfare Pourpour

Ariana Pirela Sanchez, Manos de Mujer (dance, performance). An utterly feminine solo that highlights the importance, presence, and strength of women in matriarchal societies, as well as the political and economic discrimination they face.

Claude Périard, Kim Sanh Chau, François Pedneault, Terrains Vagues (electroacoustic music, live video, dance). A journey through three imaginary places: White Beach, Darkroom, and Grey Zone. The performance evokes a stark contrast between our origins (water) and the current era of hyper-technology.

Collectif BUS 123, Babel-o-drome (street theatre, choral singing, multimedia). A walking play that explores the relationship between fiction and reality, language, identity, and communication.

Coral Short, Fake Orgasm Choir (performance, choral singing). This choir might seem ordinary until they open their mouths. Instead of singing notes, performers produce sounds replicating orgasm and use whispers, moans, and screams to express new erotic futures.

Ève Pharand-Décarie, Project Ion (dance, music, projections). Inspired by Loïe Fuller and her Serpentine dance, this physically demanding performance speaks to the idea of a transformation, a journey, an inner revolution.

Fanfare Pourpour (music). With its large family of 19 musicians, Fanfare Pourpour invites you to step off the beaten path and delight in a spirit of freedom, creation, and celebration.

Guillaume Vallée, Sarah Seené, Hazy Montagne Mystique, Me Float, Les 4 phrases de la lune (poetry, music, projections). A sensory project brought to life with the help of analog audio, psychedelic images, and poetry. Experience the whirlwind intensity of the storm as it plays on loop.

Guy Sioui Durand, Alanienouidet: de retour (performance, theatre). In 1826, the British Shakespearean actor Edmund Kean was made honorary chief of the Huron-Wendat, receiving the name Alanienouidet.

Iris Richert, Mylène Guay, Khimaira (modern puppetry, mask). An encounter between puppets; a work of research/creation featuring puppetry and transhumanism.

Julie Desrosiers, Dissection (performance, projections, mask, modern puppetry). A tableau vivant that unfolds in a small, multidimensional space. It is an alliance between the human body and puppet body that exposes the body’s weather patterns: what lives inside us, moves through us, or upends us.

Laurence Petitpas, Vita Brevis (modern puppetry, audio and video art). Theatre performed for two spectators at a time. In her living room, a grandmother looks back on her life, her memory fragmented and spotty. As she reminisces, the décor around her is altered.

Lost & Found Puppet Co., Wolf Tea (modern puppetry, performance, shadow theatre, projections, mask). Animals, humans, and dreams: a dreamlike performance that speaks to the fantastic of everyday life.

Pascale Drevillon, Genderf*cker (performance). This four-hour performance acts as a research laboratory on masculine and feminine archetypes, gender neutrality, and the fluidity and plurality of the human gender. No pictures. Cellphones must be on airport mode and put away. The intimate nature of the show requires spectators to stay for at least one hour to avoid foot traffic. 13 and up.

Pleurer Dans’ Douche, Stabat Pater (theatre, modern puppetry). Inspired by Thunderbirds, a television program that made a lasting impression on Mélodie Noël Rousseau’s father in his youth, this tribute lovingly brings out the beauty of Parkinson’s disease: an illness that, day by day, pushes its victims closer to the edge of paralysis.

Tonatiuh le magicien (magic). Tonatiuh, a 13-year-old magician, has been practicing the art of illusion for the past three years. A performance featuring close-up and sleight-of-hand techniques, with card and coin tricks sure to fool even the most sceptical spectators!

Toxique Trottoir, Le ciel rue (street theatre, movement theatre, clown). Three women of another era, travellers in search of something, walk the streets and drink from the sky. Surreal and offbeat, a silent poem for the whole family.

Valise Théâtre, Tout blanc tout chaud (modern puppetry, object theatre, collage, projections, music). A performance in free space where artists create images showing the joy and suffering newcomers experience as they integrate into a new society.

Performances in French and English

Événement

Rialto Éclectique

  • Théâtre Rialto
    5723, avenue du Parc
    Samedi 20 octobre 2018
    14h00 à 24h00

10 heures de happening sur les 4 étages du Rialto avec une soixantaine d’artistes de 13 à 67 ans. De 14h à 22h, performances en continu dans les différentes salles du Rialto. Performance, danse, théâtre, marionnette contemporaine, magie, projections, musique, arts numériques, etc.

À 22h, concert de la Fanfare Pourpour.

Ariana Pirela Sanchez, Manos de Mujer (danse, performance). Un solo empreint de féminité qui traite de l’importance, de la prestance et de la force des femmes en société matriarcale, ainsi que des inégalités politiques et économiques qu’elles subissent.

Claude Périard, Kim Sanh Chau, François Pedneault, Terrains Vagues (musique électroacoustique, vidéo en direct, danse). Voyage à travers trois lieux imaginaires: Plage blanche, Chambre noire et Zone grise. Mise en contraste entre l’origine (l’eau) et l’époque hyper-technologique actuelle.

Collectif BUS 123, Babel-o-drome (théâtre de rue, chant choral, multimédia). Pièce de théâtre déambulatoire qui explore la relation entre fiction et réalité, langage, identité et communication.

Coral Short, Fake Orgasm Choir (performance, chant choral). Sur scène, une chorale à première vue traditionnelle. Mais plutôt que de chanter des notes musicales, celle-ci produit des sons d’orgasme et exprime de nouveaux avenirs érotiques à partir de murmures, de gémissements et de cris.

Ève Pharand-Décarie, Project Ion (danse, musique, projections). Inspiré de Loïe Fuller et de sa danse serpentine, cette performance exigeante physiquement porte l’idée de la transformation, du voyage, d’une révolution intérieure.

Fanfare Pourpour (musique). Composée d’une grande famille de 19 musiciens et musiciennes, la Fanfaire Pourpour vous invite à sortir des sentiers battus et à se réjouir, dans un esprit de liberté, de création et de fête.

Guillaume Vallée, Sarah Seené, Hazy Montagne Mystique, Me Float, Les 4 phrases de la lune (poésie, musique, projections). Sons analogiques, images psychédéliques et poésie font naître un projet sensoriel aux boucles efficaces, une intense tourmente à saisir dans un tourbillon.

Guy Sioui Durand, Alanienouidet: de retour (performance, théâtre). En 1826, le grand acteur Shakespearien anglais Edmund Kean est adopté comme chef honoraire par la Nation Huronne-Wendat, on lui donne le nom d’Alanienouidet.

Iris Richert, Mylène Guay, Khimaira (marionnette contemporaine, masque). Une rencontre entre deux petits êtres marionnettiques. Une recherche-création sur la marionnette et le transhumanisme.

Julie Desrosiers, Dissection (performance, projections, masque, marionnette contemporaine). Un tableau vivant qui se déploie dans un espace restreint et multidimensionnel. Une alliance entre corps réel et corps marionnette, révélant les météos du corps, ce qui l’habite, le traverse ou le bouleverse.

Laurence Petitpas, Vita Brevis (marionnette contemporaine, art audio et vidéo). Un théâtre à espionner pour 2 spectateurs à la fois. Dans son salon, une grand-mère repasse des fragments de vie. Elle raconte, sa mémoire en friche… Au fil des souvenirs, son décor quotidien se trouve altéré.

Lost & Found Puppet Co., Wolf Tea (marionette contemporaine, performance, théâtre d’ombres, projections, masque). Les animaux, les humains et les rêves. Une performance onirique qui s’intéresse au fantastique dans le quotidien.

Pascale Drevillon, Genderf*cker
(performance). Cette performance d’une durée de quatre heures est un laboratoire de recherche sur les archétypes masculins et féminins, la neutralité du genre, ainsi que la fluidité et la pluralité du genre humain. Pas de photos. Les cellulaires devront être placés en mode «Avion» et rangés. Le spectacle étant intimiste, les spectateurs sont invités à être présent pendant au moins 1 heure afin d’éviter les allées et venues. 13 ans et plus.

Pleurer Dans’ Douche, Stabat Pater (théâtre, marionnette contemporaine). Inspiré par les Sentinelles de l’air (Thunderbirds), série ayant marqué l’enfance du père de Mélodie Noël Rousseau, cet hommage fait émaner le beau dans une maladie qui, de jour en jour, pousse ceux atteints dans un gouffre de paralysie: la maladie de Parkinson.

Tonatiuh le magicien (magie). Tonatiuh est un magicien de 13 ans qui pratique passionnément l’art de l’illusion depuis trois ans. Une prestation alliant close-up et prestidigitation, avec des numéros de cartes et de pièces de monnaie qui bluffent à tout coup même les spectateurs les plus sceptiques!

Toxique Trottoir, Le ciel rue (théâtre de rue, théâtre de mouvements, clown). Trois femmes d’une autre époque, voyageuses en quête, déambulent sur le pavé et s’abreuvent du ciel. Un poème sans mot, surréaliste et insolite, pour toute la famille.

Valise Théâtre, Tout blanc tout chaud (marionnette contemporaine, théâtre d’objets, collage, projections, musique). Dans un espace libre, les interprètes créent des images montrant la joie et la souffrance des nouveaux arrivants qui cherchent l’intégration dans un nouveau pays.

Un merci tout particulier M. Ezio Carosielli, propriétaire du Rialto, pour son accueil incomparable.

Performances en français et en anglais.