News Item

A New Canadian Literary Award

Thursday, June 15, 2006
7501

“The Voice Electric / La Voix électrique”

Canada now has its first ever literary prize honouring the career and work of a spoken word / poetry in performance artist, thanks to two Montreal-based organizations - Les Filles électriques and Wired on Words.

The Voice Electric / La Voix électrique Award, worth $2,000, will be awarded annually during the Festival Voix d’Amériques (FVA), to French and English-language artists in alternate years. Artists from Canadian First Nations who present their work in their own language are eligible at any time. For the first two years, the Award is being sponsored by a private donor.

The Voice Electric / La Voix électrique Award will recognize literature by an artist who creates and performs his or her own work on stage. It will celebrate the artist’s creative path and contributions to the development of the discipline. The Selection Committee, working under the direction of D. Kimm, Executive and Artistic Director of Les Filles électriques, and Ian Ferrier, co-founder and Director of Wired on Words, will evaluate candidates based on factors such as originality in the creative process, mastery of the genre, innovation, the use of new technologies, contributions to the community, the quality of the writing, and openness to diverse voices.

The winner of the first Voice Electric / La Voix électrique Award will be announced at the 2007 FVA, taking place February 2 to 9, 2007. An event to honour the Award recipient will also be organized as part of World Poetry Day, March 21.

Spoken word artists interested in applying for the inaugural award should submit a covering letter, curriculum vitae, press clippings, audio and visual clips, and letters of reference from members of the community. The deadline is Monday, October 30. The letter and portfolio should be sent to the offices of Les Filles électriques, 5143 boulevard Saint-Laurent, Montréal, H2T 1R9. For further information: 514-495-1515.

Les Filles électriques is a non-profit organization whose mandate is to create, distribute and archive multidisciplinary works and events in oral, written and electronic literature.

Wired on Words is a recording label specializing in the distribution of literature in performance. It also organizes the monthly Words & Music evenings at the Casa del Popolo.

Nouvelle

Création d’un nouveau prix littéraire canadien

Jeudi 15 juin 2006
7501

«La Voix électrique / The Voice Electric»

Grâce aux organismes montréalais Les Filles électriques et Wired on Words, le Canada aura son premier prix littéraire honorant le travail d’un artiste de spoken word / poésie performée pour l’ensemble de son oeuvre.

D’une valeur de 2 000 dollars, le prix «La Voix électrique / The Voice Electric» sera remis annuellement dans le cadre du Festival Voix d’Amériques (FVA), en alternance entre un artiste francophone et un artiste anglophone du Canada. Les artistes autochtones qui présentent leur travail dans leur propre langue sont aussi éligibles. Pour les deux premières années, le prix sera commandité par un donateur privé.

Le prix «La Voix électrique / The Voice Electric» reconnaîtra le travail d’une ou d’un artiste de littérature performée présentant sur scène ses propres textes; il célébrera sa démarche artistique et son apport au développement de la discipline. Sous la tutelle de D. Kimm, directrice générale et artistique des Filles électriques, ainsi que de Ian Ferrier, cofondateur et directeur de Wired on Words, le comité de sélection analysera les candidatures en fonction de facteurs tels que l’originalité de la démarche, l’innovation, l’intégration de nouvelles technologies, l’apport pour le milieu, la qualité des textes, la maîtrise du genre, l’ouverture aux voix différentes, etc.

Le lauréat du premier prix «La Voix électrique / The Voice Electric» sera annoncé lors du FVA 2007, se déroulant du 2 au 9 février 2007. Un événement en l’honneur du récipiendaire sera également organisé à l’occasion de la Journée mondiale de la poésie, le 21 mars.

Les artistes intéressés à soumettre un dossier doivent envoyer une lettre d’intention, un curriculum vitae, un dossier de presse, du matériel visuel et sonore ainsi que des lettres d’appui du milieu. La date limite pour soumettre une candidature pour l’édition inaugurale du prix est le lundi 30 octobre; le dossier doit être envoyé aux bureaux des Filles électriques, 5143 boulevard Saint-Laurent, Montréal, H2T 1R9. Renseignements: 514-495-1515.

Les Filles électriques est un organisme à but non lucratif dont le mandat est de créer, diffuser et archiver des oeuvres et des événements artistiques interdisciplinaires en littérature orale, écrite et électronique.

Wired on Words est une étiquette de disque qui se spécialise dans la diffusion de la littérature performance et qui organise les soirées mensuelles Words & Music à la Casa del Popolo.