News Item

Richard Desjardins to be the FVA guest of honour in 2007

Monday, November 6, 2006
7506

February 2 to 9, 2007

Montréal, November 6, 2006 — One Tomson Highway and a few Chloé Sainte-Marie’s later, the Festival Voix d’Amériques (FVA) is in motion once again with an electromagnetic guest of honour. Grab your lightning rod, the charge should be intense! Richard Desjardins will be the brilliant ambassador for the sixth annual FVA in 2007.

After two years touring his Kanasuta Project across Québec, the “Free Man” returns to the stage with a solo show. Integrity and defiance still firmly in place, Desjardins will rustproof the frigid weeks of February with double, one-of-a-kind performances.

As an opener February 2, Desjardins will take the stage at the Cabaret La Tulipe. With his voice and guitar as his only weapons, the poet will liberate us with conviction, drive and generosity.

On February 8, in the intimacy of La Sala Rossa, the man will strip down completely. For the space of an evening, he will give us his all, the sarcastic humour we have come to expect, and the monologues where lyricism is matched only by engagement with the world.

The fact that the Festival Voix d’Amériques has set its heart on Desjardins is no accident. Who else better embodies all the shapes that poetry can take as it moves from page to stage? Richard Desjardins does more than sing. Richard Desjardins speaks his texts, performs his poetry and “slams” his rants. By choosing him as the 2007 Guest of Honour, the FVA salutes an enormous talent — authentic, free, impossible to categorize, an anarchist and an unbending force. To borrow from his song “quand j’aime une fois, j’aime pour toujours”, once you love this artist, you’ll love him for life.

Founded in 2002 and administered by Les Filles électriques, the FVA is now the most important spoken word festival in Canada. From February 2 to 9, more than one hundred artists — poets, writers, storytellers, singers, performers and rappers — accompanied by improv musicians, will perform on-stage at the Sala Rossa and the Casa Del Popolo. In the warm-hearted atmosphere that characterizes the festival, they will share their words, their emotions, and their summons to act in a festive cabaret spirit.

A truly engaged and effervescent space for experimentation, our multilingual festival reflects the ethnic eclecticism of Montreal. It gambles and wins in uniting the two solitudes with a gathering that celebrates a distinct artistic discipline — spoken word, poetry and text in performance.

-30-

Source: Catherine Girard-Lantagne, 514-495-1515, catherine.girard@electriques.ca

Nouvelle

Richard Desjardins sera l’invité d’honneur du FVA édition 2007

Lundi 6 novembre 2006
7506

Du 2 au 9 février 2007

Montréal, le 6 novembre 2006 — Un Tomson Highway et quelque Chloé Sainte-Marie plus tard, le Festival Voix d’Amériques (FVA) poursuit sa lancée avec un invité d’honneur au magnétisme électrique. Attachez votre paratonnerre, la décharge sera puissante! Pour sa sixième édition, le FVA célèbrera nul autre que Richard Desjardins. Du 2 au 9 février, Montréal sera foudroyé!

Après avoir passé deux années à tourner au Québec avec son projet Kanasuta, l’homme libre revient seul en scène. Plus intègre et plus indomptable que jamais, l’artiste galvanisera le frigorifique mois de février en présentant deux prestations uniques.

Le 2 février, en guise de spectacle d’ouverture, Richard Desjardins prendra d’assaut la scène du Cabaret La Tulipe. Avec pour seules armes sa voix et sa guitare, le poète nous livrera ses textes incarnés avec conviction, ferveur et générosité.

Le 8 février, dans l’intimité de La Sala Rossa, Richard Desjardins nous fait un cadeau rare: il performera, avec l’humour sarcastique qu’on lui connaît, ses monologues dont la poésie n’a d’égal que l’engagement.

Que le Festival Voix d’Amériques ait jeté son dévolu sur cet artiste n’a rien d’innocent. Qui d’autre incarne aussi bien toutes les formes que peut prendre la poésie dans son passage de l’écrit à la scène? Richard Desjardins ne fait pas que de la chanson. Richard Desjardins parle ses textes, performe sa poésie et «slam» ses coups de gueule. En faisant de lui son invité d’honneur, le FVA veut rendre hommage à cet artiste de grand talent, authentique, libre, inclassable, à la fois anarchique et intransigeant. Quand on l’a aimé une fois… on l’aime pour toujours.

Fondé en 2002 et dirigé par Les Filles électriques, le FVA est aujourd’hui le plus important festival de spoken word au Canada. Du 2 au 9 février, plus d’une centaine d’artistes - poètes, écrivains, conteurs, chanteurs, performeurs et rappeurs -, accompagnés de musiciens improvisateurs, viendront performer sur les scènes de la Sala Rosa et de la Casa Del Popolo. Dans l’ambiance chaleureuse qui caractérise si bien le festival, ils livreront leurs textes, leurs émotions et leurs revendications dans l’esprit festif du cabaret.

Véritable lieu d’expérimentation engagé et effervescent, notre festival multilingue est à l’image de l’éclectisme ethnique montréalais. Il remporte le pari d’unir les deux solitudes dans ce rassemblement, qui célèbre une discipline artistique distincte, celle du spoken word, de la poésie et du texte performé.

-30-

Source: Catherine Girard-Lantagne, 514-495-1515, catherine.girard@electriques.ca