News Item

The Festival Voix d’Amériques is thrilled to report!

Friday, February 9, 2007
7510

From February 2 through 9, in wind and ice (man, was it cold!), the 6th Festival Voix d’Amériques (FVA) heated up the box office at La Tulipe and dried up the bars at the Sala Rossa and the Casa del Popolo!

2007 marks an important turning point in the Festival’s history. Thanks to a wealth of wonderful programming and the unbelievable generosity of our Guest of Honour, Richard Desjardins, the support for this year’s FVA was the best it has ever had. Besides Desjardins’ Richard Guétare at La Tulipe — an instant sell-out that went immediately to a second show — many other shows were completely full before the FVA even started.

The classics, just the way we like them!

For the third year in a row, the Combat contre la langue de bois was a huge hit! The Sala Rossa, crowded to the rafters, saw Stéphane Crête, Micheline Lanctôt, Robert Morin, Monique Giroux and six other word-boxers slip on the gloves and go at it for the FVA. There were some impressive right hands and they KO’d their topic every time. But we also want to point out that the artists, busy defeating clichés and shredding the old worn-out tapes, also brought enormous honesty to the fight. They were 100 percent there — in the way they spoke to their topic but also in the way they revealed themselves. And for that, we say, Thank You.

Body and Soul 4 closed the Festival with a gust of impertinent youth. Girls took over the stage with a show that was just slightly off the rails and oh! so very refreshing! The always surprising Moquettes Coquettes kept the stakes high, with a show full of humour and intelligence, and welcomed guest artists that included the intensely audience-pleasing Giselle Numba One.

The risk paid off

The FVA’s solid artistic direction paid off higher than ever this year, with bold programming that celebrated well known artists and introduced some new voices too. On the mainstage, Richard Desjardins followed the explosive (and incisive!) band Gatineau. Frank Martel tossed out country rhythms and madness to a curious crowd, Martin Tétreault hypnotized the room with electro-sounds and the voice of a poet, and Bernard Falaise showed up as a singer — to the absolute delight of new music lovers. Then there was the delicious Hallahou!, presented by the publishing house Le Quartanier, and in English, Voices from Planet Toronto, featuring the wry intelligence of Jill Battson, the political fugues of Robert Priest, the nonsense of beloved bill bissett, and the committed voices of young urban poets including Spin and rap diva Naila Keleta Mae, all hosted by the generous Andrea Thompson.

There was some serious risk-taking at the Casa too, with 5à7 shows that really took off this year. The incredible Emmanuelle Orange and her group Eden106 were one of the real discoveries in this year’s lineup. And there were many more at the Night Shifts hosted by Tony Tremblay, where close to a hundred brave souls grabbed the open mic to perform their own stuff in our multilingual poetry cabarets.

In short, everything seemed to fall into place for the 6th FVA. The kinds of poetry and text performance we celebrate have never been more popular. The FVA stays true to itself, giving us all the sounds of strong, authentic voices, and next year, we’ll be back stronger than ever, with the 7th FVA, February 1 to 8, 2008. And neither sleet nor snow will stop us!!

Nouvelle

Festival Voix d’Amériques: Un bilan stimulant!

Vendredi 9 février 2007
7510

Du 2 au 9 février, contre vents et gelées (Fasait frette en tabarouette!), la sixième édition du Festival Voix d’Amériques (FVA) a réussi non seulement à faire surchauffer la billetterie du La Tulipe, mais à assécher les bars de La Sala Rossa et de la Casa del Popolo!

L’année 2007 aura marqué un tournant important dans l’histoire du Festival. Grâce à la richesse de la programmation et à l’incroyable générosité de notre invité d’honneur, Richard Desjardins, le FVA a atteint un taux d’assistance jusqu’ici encore inégalé. Outre Richard Guétare à La Tulipe — spectacle qui a immédiatement nécessité une supplémentaire — de nombreux spectacles ont affiché complet plusieurs jours avant le début du festival.

Des classiques qui se sont imposés comme tels!

Pour la troisième année, le Combat contre la langue de bois a frappé fort! C’est devant une Sala Rossa pleine à craquer que les Stéphane Crête, Micheline Lanctôt, Robert Morin, Monique Giroux et six autres athlètes du verbe ont successivement enfilé les gants que leur tendait le FVA. Avec une droite dévastatrice, ils ont tous mis KO leur cible. Mais ce qu’il faut souligner, c’est qu’au-delà du combat contre les clichés et la cassette usée, chacun s’est commis avec une grande honnêteté. Tous les protagonistes se sont engagés, non seulement dans leur manière de parler du sujet, mais en se révélant à travers lui. Pour cette raison, nous leur disons merci.

De son côté, le Body and Soul 4 est venu boucler le festival sous le signe de la jeunesse et de l’impertinence. Les filles ont pris d’assaut la scène pour livrer un spectacle déjanté et ô combien rafraîchissant. Les toujours surprenantes Moquettes Coquettes ont tenu la barre de ce spectacle de clôture avec humour et intelligence tout en laissant une juste place à leurs invités dont l’intense Giselle Numba One qui a charmé le public.

Le risque récompensé

La solide direction artistique du festival a plus que jamais remporté le pari d’offrir une programmation audacieuse qui, tout en célébrant des artistes consacrés, a fait découvrir de nouvelles voix. Ainsi, au programme des grands spectacles, la performance de Richard Desjardins succédait à celle de l’explosif (et incisif!) groupe Gatineau. Tantôt un Frank Martel propageant folies et rythmes country devant un public curieux, tantôt un Martin Tétreault hypnotisait la salle avec sa musique électro et ses paroles de poètes. Alors que Bernard Falaise s’est révélé en chanson, au grand plaisir des amateurs de musique actuelle, le délicieux spectacle Hallahou!, présenté par la maison d’édition Le Quartanier, de même que Voices From Planet Toronto, ont fait salle comble.

L’audace était aussi présente lors des 5 à 7 de la Casa del Popolo — dont les spectacles concept ont véritablement pris leur envol cette année. L’incroyable Emmanuelle Orange et son groupe Eden106 en ont été l’une des plus belles révélations. Et la découverte s’est poursuivie tout au long du festival lors des Shifts de Nuit animés par Tony Tremblay où les micros ouverts ont accueilli une centaine de téméraires venus performer leurs textes dans ces cabarets poétiques multilingues.

Bref, tout semble s’être mis en place en cette 6e édition. La poésie et le texte performé tels que célébrés au FVA ont plus que jamais attiré les foules. Fidèle à lui-même, le FVA a fait s’élever des voix fortes et authentiques et reviendra en force l’an prochain pour sa 7e édition qui se déroulera du 1er au 8 février 2008… contre vents et gelées!!!