News Item

Spoken word, poetry, performance, music… and a sense of history!

Tuesday, January 15, 2008
7548

Winter has been a little crazy the last seven years, and Les Filles électriques is definitely responsible for a few degrees of intensity! Since 2002, Montreal has been plugged into the Festival Voix d’Amériques (FVA) celebrating performance text, spoken word and the risk of language. This year, the FVA runs February 1 to 8, the seventh edition of this electrifying production by Les Filles électriques.

Moving between the Sala Rossa and the Casa del Popolo, with one incursion to Ex‑Centris, this 7th FVA brings together more than 100 artists, in English and French, to perform for playful audiences in a relaxed and festive atmosphere. We have a special treat for Montreal this year in our guest of honour, New York poet John Giorno, who has been a leading figure in performance poetry for more than 50 years! John Giorno will perform on three consecutive nights - solo, with francophone poets, and with anglophone poets.

As you all know, the FVA headquarters are at the Sala Rossa and the Casa del Popolo, but we also like alliances - especially if they're risky. Thanks to an invitation from Ex‑Centris, we are finally able to give Montreal audiences the chance to see La Salle des pas perdus, a multidisciplinary show we’ve presented only once before, at the Berlin Poetry Festival last June. Meanwhile, the tradition of mainstage shows at the Sala continues all week. And the FVA favourites are back! Well on its way to becoming a cult classic, the Combat contre la langue de bois returns for Round Four, giving a dozen well known guests a chance to say what’s on their minds (in French). And Body and Soul 5 will carry on its mission of presenting outrageous women likely to cause a commotion.

Along with the classics, the FVA is always about the new! Jérôme Minière in an intimate and unexpected show where he will finally tell us… the truth about trees! And to cap it all off, a Dada Cabaret - hysteric queer whacky insolent unbelievable. Our ticket prices are unbelievable too, at $12 to $15. Down with reason, up with extravagance!

And of course the FVA always makes room for new voices. Besides the daily 5 à 7 shows (free!), we are once again hosting the Night Shift, our popular late-night cabaret with an open Mic. Every evening, starting at 11 pm at the Casa, the statuesque Michel Vézina and his musical partners Philippe Brault and Guido del Fabbro will welcome established performers (the opening act) before turning the mic over to emerging artists.

Nouvelle

Le spoken word, la poésie, la performance, la musique… et le sens de l’histoire!

Mardi 15 janvier 2008
7548

Si l’hiver depuis sept ans est devenu un peu fou, Les Filles électriques sont certainement responsables de quelques degrés d’intensité! Depuis 2002, Montréal se branche sur le Festival Voix d’Amériques (FVA) pour fêter le texte performé, le spoken word et la parole audacieuse… Cette année, c’est du 1er au 8 février que Les Filles électriques présenteront la septième édition de cet événement survolté!

Entre La Sala Rossa et la Casa del Popolo, avec une incursion du côté d’Ex-Centris, le 7e FVA rassemblera plus d’une centaine d’artistes francophones et anglophones devant un public complice dans une ambiance décontractée et festive. Avec comme invité d’honneur le poète new-yorkais John Giorno, c’est tout un cadeau que le FVA offre au public montréalais qui découvrira ainsi une des figures majeures de la poésie performée… depuis plus de 50 ans! John Giorno se produira trois soirs consécutifs: en solo, en compagnie de poètes francophones et en compagnie de performeurs anglophones.

C’est connu, le FVA a pour quartier général La Sala Rossa et la Casa del Popolo, mais nous aimons bien les alliances, surtout lorsqu’elles sont audacieuses. À l’invitation d’Ex-Centris, nous proposons enfin au public montréalais le spectacle interdisciplinaire La Salle des pas perdus qui a été présenté une fois seulement au Poesie Berlin Festival en juin dernier. La tradition des grands spectacles présentés à La Sala Rossa se poursuit néanmoins toute la semaine. Et les classiques sont aussi de retour! En phase de devenir un événement culte, le 4e round du Combat contre la langue de bois permettra à une dizaine d’invités bien connus du public de dire ce qu’ils pensent sans mâcher leurs mots. Et Body and Soul 5 poursuit sa mission de présenter des femmes… excessives et dérangeantes.

Au-delà des classiques, le FVA se renouvelle sans cesse! Jérôme Minière pour un spectacle intime et inédit où il nous dira enfin… la vérité sur les arbres! Et finalement, un Cabaret DADA hystérique queer délirant insolent improbable. Le prix des billets de nos spectacles est tout aussi improbable: entre 12$ et 17$. À bas la raison et vive l’extravagance!

Le FVA continue d’offrir une place importante aux nouvelles voix. En plus des 5 à 7 quotidiens (et gratuits!), les populaires cabarets Shift de nuit offrent encore cette année des micros ouverts. Chaque soir, dès 23h, à la Casa del Popolo, l’imposant Michel Vézina, avec ses complices musiciens Philippe Brault et Guido del Fabbro, accueillera en première partie des performeurs établis pour ensuite donner le «micro ouvert» à la relève.