News Item

Two Guests of Honour for a brilliant celebration: Melissa Auf der Maur & Michel Faubert

Wednesday, September 22, 2010
7565

For its 10th anniversary event, the Festival Voix d’Amériques goes bold yet again! The FVA has had the wonderful idea of celebrating with not one but two Guests of Honour. Storyteller Michel Faubert and musician Melissa Auf der Maur are as unique as they are complementary, crossing artistic boundaries with daring and generosity.

A leading figure in the rediscovery of roots and traditional music, Michel Faubert is a master storyteller, singer and musician known for his original vision. Michel Faubert appeared at the 2003 and 2005 FVAs and we consider him part of the family. He too comes out of what used to be called “orality” and has evolved along with us, exploring interdisciplinarity and working alongside innovative artists, keeping a firm grasp all the while on the collective memory he cherishes.

As a demanding indie artist who has taken control of her career with limit-smashing intermedia projects, Melissa Auf der Maur is one of the most intriguing voices to emerge in recent years. The FVA is proud to welcome this hot Montreal rocker with the huge international name. We salute her sass, her freedom and her inner warrior. Melissa Auf der Maur is an intense, genuinely alive girl who knows how to shake up the heart and the mind.

Nouvelle

Deux invités d’honneur pour célébrer avec éclat: Melissa Auf der Maur et Michel Faubert

Mercredi 22 septembre 2010
7565

Pour ses 10 ans, le Festival Voix d’Amériques ose une fois de plus! Il célèbre avec une proposition étonnante, celle d’accueillir non pas un, mais deux invités d’honneur: le conteur Michel Faubert et la musicienne Melissa Auf der Maur. Deux artistes aussi exceptionnels que complémentaires et qui, comme le FVA, transgressent les genres et brillent par leur audace et leur générosité.

Reconnu pour l’originalité de sa démarche artistique, Michel Faubert a participé aux éditions 2003 et 2005 du FVA et fait partie de la famille. Issu lui aussi de ce qu’on appelait à l’époque «l’oralité», il a évolué tout comme le festival en explorant différentes avenues, collaborant avec des artistes novateurs, tout en gardant un pied dans la mémoire collective qui lui est si chère.

Interdisciplinaire et indépendante, Melissa Auf der Maur est une des artistes les plus intrigantes des dernières années. Le FVA est fier d’honorer cette rockeuse montréalaise qui connait un succès éclatant sur la scène internationale. Mais plus que tout, nous saluons son impertinence, sa liberté, son côté guerrière, bref, Melissa Auf der Maur est une fille fougueuse et vive qui sait secouer le cœur et l’esprit.