News Item

Festival Phénomena 2014 — Call for Projects

Monday, December 9, 2013
7599

Deadline: March 1, 2014

Phénomena is an interdisciplinary and bilingual festival that seeks to highlight atypical and unclassifiable artists. The festival presents performances with projections, shadow theatre, tableaux-vivants, contemporary puppets, automatons, object theatre, off-the-wall cabarets, performance dance, experimental music, high-tech in low-tech fashion, and poetic and artisanal installations.

For a glimpse of the wonderful artists we present, view the video of the Festival Phénomena 2013 (excerpts).

Festival Phénomena 2013 — Excerpts

As a festival guided by research, experimentation and risk-taking, Phénomena is interested in emerging or unclassifiable artists and young independent companies who are used to work with small budgets. The festival is also known for forging links between anglophones and francophones.

You can submit 15-minute performance projects which can be included within a cabaret, 50-minute shows which can be part of shared performance evenings, or complete shows which can be presented for one or more evenings. We also have an outdoor performance and interventions in public space section.

Our fields of interest: interdisciplinary, bold, innovative and essentially creative projects; independent, inventive anti-conformist productions and unusual approaches; artists who take risks, who call things into question, who search; potentially long-term shows that may evolve and be presented on future occasions; poetic, magical, fantastic and touching creations.

We operate with small budgets and we like to work with people who have a DIY attitude. So much the better if you already have partners with other companies, festivals or disseminators. Times are hard and we must pool the ressources of small budget creation.

We have four series that make it possible to accomodate a wide range of propositions:

  • Conductive Bodies at the Casa del Popolo, a series based on performance, music and projections. Each evening, consists of two 50 minute shows
  • The Shows at La Sala Rossa, a series based on innovative shows which combine performance, projections, theatrical approaches object or shadow theatre, cabaret, dance, music.
  • Off Site, for atypical or outdoor events and installations, for unclassifiable, unconventional projects or ones which are presented for more than one evening in a venue outside of our usual circuit. Ideallly, you already have a venue in mind.
  • Outdoor performance and interventions in public space, mainly in the Mile-End neighbourhood.

Our artistic vision

We are rooted in interdisciplinarity, which is not merely an accumulation of disciplines, but a way of doing things that involves a constant questioning, encourages the transgression of artistic norms and takes us out of our comfort zones.

We provide an experimentation platform for those who work in an artisanal manner. Proposals may include shadow theatre, new magic, puppeteering, automatons, object theatre, digital artists, creative object repurposing…and, of course, let us not forget inventions and phantasmagorias! Our source of inspiration is the great Georges Méliès, who dedicated his life to creating a fantastic world by doing everything himself: an inventor, film director, actor, stage director, decorator, magician and mechanic.

We are interested in poetry. The poetry of poets and of artists in every category, but also in the poetry of places, materials, techniques and installations. The goal is to offer hybrid, fantastic and eccentric creations, which nevertheless remain touching and authentic.

Please note: we do not present circus art or theatrical plays, nor burelsque pieces, as there are already several dissemination platforms for such productions. However, artists who come from the circus arts, theatre or the burlesque are all welcome if they wish to work in an interdisciplinary approach.

How to present your proposal

Your proposal must include a CV or a detailed biographic notice, the description of the project (2 pages maximum), in what context you want to present your work, what resources you already have secured, visual documentation of your work, and links to videos. And above all… what motivates you to take part in the Festival Phénomena.This is neither a grant application nor a lottery. Projects may be written in French or English, though we welcome performances in all languages.

Please! Think things through on your, end but also think of us. Please don’t send 40MB emails which will jam our inbox. Transfer you documents into PDF (freeware) files. Send us JPEG photos that are no bigger than 1MB (they are not intended for a print publication). Please avoid sending a 50 page manuscript (we are not a publishing house).Please outline your project in a simple and concrete way.

A pointer: be personal! That is what we are interested in. With whom have you worked, who has inspired you, what are your goals, what is your artistic process, what are your affinities with Phénomena. Sending us a form letter that you have already mailed to 50 festivals, like a message in a bottle, is not a good idea.

Our team will evaluate all projects with consideration and respect and we will personally contact everyone who will have submitted a well structured project. Your proposals must be received at the latest on March 1, 2014 by email to the attention of:

D.Kimm
Artistic Director Festival Phénomena
d.kimm@electriques.ca

Nouvelle

Festival Phénomena 2014 — Appel de projets

Lundi 9 décembre 2013
7599

Date de tombée: 1er mars 2014

Phénomena est un festival interdisciplinaire et bilingue dont l’objectif est de mettre en valeur des artistes atypiques et inclassables. Le festival présente des performances avec projections, du théâtre d’ombres, des tableaux vivants, de la marionnette contemporaine, des automates, du théâtre d’objets, des cabarets déjantés, de la danse performance, de la musique expérimentale, du high-tech à la manière low-tech, des installations poétiques et artisanales.

Pour avoir un aperçu des merveilleux artistes que nous présentons, allez visionner la vidéo Festival Phénomena 2013 (extraits).

Festival Phénomena 2013 — Extraits

La recherche, l’expérimentation et la prise de risque sont au cœur de notre travail et Phénomena s’intéresse aux artistes émergents ou inclassables et aux jeunes compagnies indépendantes habituées à fonctionner avec de petits budgets. Le festival a aussi pour particularité de faire le pont entre anglophones et francophones.

Vous pouvez nous soumettre des projets de performances de 15 minutes qui peuvent s’intégrer dans un cabaret, des spectacles de 50 minutes qui peuvent faire l’objet de soirées partagées ou des spectacles achevés qui peuvent être présentés pour un ou plusieurs soirs. Nous avons aussi un volet de performances extérieures et d’intervention dans l’espace public.

Nos intérêts: des projets interdisciplinaires audacieux et novateurs, essentiellement des créations; des productions indépendantes, inventives, anti conformistes; des artistes dédiés, qui prennent des risques, qui se questionnent; des spectacles qui auront une durée de vie et qui pourront continuer d’évoluer et d’être diffusés; des créations poétiques, féériques, fantaisistes et touchantes.

Nous fonctionnons avec de petits budgets et nous aimons travailler avec les adeptes du «Système D». Tant mieux si vous avez déjà des partenariats avec d’autres compagnies, festivals ou diffuseurs; les temps sont durs et il faut unir les forces vives de la création à petit budget.

Nous avons quatre séries qui permettent d’accueillir différentes propositions:

  • Les Corps conducteurs à la Casa del Popolo, série axée sur la performance, la musique et les projections, nous présentons deux spectacles de 50 minutes chaque soir.
  • Les spectacles à La Sala Rossa, série axée sur des spectacles novateurs qui intègrent différentes formes: performance, projections, théâtralité, théâtre d’objets ou d’ombres, cabaret, danse, musique.
  • Hors les murs, pour des événements et des installations dans des lieux atypiques, des projets inclassables, hors-normes ou encore présentés pour plus d’un soir dans une salle en dehors de notre circuit habituel. Idéalement vous avez déjà un lieu en tête.
  • Performances extérieures et interventions dans l’espace public, principalement dans le quartier Mile End.

Notre vision artistique

Pour nous, l’interdisciplinarité n’est pas une simple accumulation de disciplines, mais plutôt une manière de faire qui implique un questionnement, qui transgresse les conventions artistiques et qui oblige à quitter sa zone de confort.

Nous offrons un lieu d’expérimentation pour les artistes qui travaillent de manière artisanale. Cela peut inclure tout autant les projets musicaux, la danse performance, le théâtre d’ombres, la magie nouvelle, les marionnettes, les automates, le théâtre d’objets, les projections, les arts numériques, le détournement d’objets… sans oublier les inventions et les fantasmagories bien entendu! Notre maître est le grand Georges Méliès, qui a consacré sa vie à créer un univers merveilleux en faisant tout lui-même, à la fois inventeur, réalisateur, acteur, metteur en scène, décorateur, magicien, mécanicien.

Nous nous intéressons à la poésie, celle des poètes et des artistes en tous genres, mais aussi à la poésie des lieux, des matériaux, des techniques, des installations. Le but étant d’offrir des créations hybrides, fantaisistes et hors-normes qui demeurent touchantes et authentiques.

Ce qu’il faut savoir: nous ne présentons pas de cirque, ni de pièce de théâtre, ni de burlesque, car il y a déjà plusieurs plates-formes de diffusion pour ces productions. Par contre, les artistes issus du cirque, du théâtre ou du burlesque sont bienvenus s’ils veulent travailler avec une approche interdisciplinaire.

Comment présenter votre dossier

Votre dossier doit comprendre un CV ou une note bio détaillée, la description du projet (2 pages maximum), dans quel cadre vous souhaitez présenter votre création, quelles ressources sont déjà mises en place, des éléments visuels illustrant votre travail, des liens vers des vidéos. Et surtout… ce qui vous motive à vouloir participer au Festival Phénomena. Il ne s’agit pas d’une demande de bourse ni d’une loterie. Nous acceptons les projets rédigés en français et en anglais et joués dans toutes les langues.

Attention! Pensez à votre affaire et pensez à nous. Évitez les courriels de 40Mo qui bloquent notre boîte de réception. Transformez vos documents en PDF (logiciel gratuit). Envoyez-nous des photos en JPEG de maximum 1Mo (on ne s’en va pas en impression). Expliquez votre projet de manière simple et concrète.

Petit conseil: soyez personnel! C’est ça qui nous intéresse. Avec qui avez-vous travaillé, qui vous inspire, quels sont vos objectifs, quelle est votre démarche artistique, que représente ce projet pour vous, quelles sont vos affinités avec Phénomena? Nous envoyer un texte générique que vous avez déjà posté à 50 festivals comme une bouteille à la mer n’est certes pas une bonne idée.

Tous les projets seront considérés avec attention et respect par notre équipe et nous répondrons personnellement à tous ceux qui nous auront soumis un projet articulé. Votre proposition devra nous parvenir au plus tard le 1er mars 2014 par courriel à l’attention de:

D.Kimm
Directrice artistique Festival Phénomena
d.kimm@electriques.ca