News Item

Call for projects: Phénomena Festival 2019

Thursday, December 6, 2018
7648

Call for projects
Phénomena Festival — October 15-26, 2019

Artistic Director: D. Kimm

Deadline: February 1, 2019
Phénomena theme 2019: Transmission
Phénomena theme 2020: Generosity

Phénomena is a bilingual interdisciplinary festival that seeks to highlight innovative, extravagant, and unclassifiable artists. The Festival presents cabarets, whimsical and theatrical acts, performances with projections, happenings, performative dance, installations, and poetic events. Phénomena’s 8th edition will be held from October 15th to 26th, 2019. Click to see clips from the Festival’s previous edition.

Guided by experimentation and risk-taking, Phénomena is interested in professional artists, either emerging or established, with a very personal approach, as well as in independent and nonconformist creation companies. We offer a platform to artists who are rigorous, take risks and challenge themselves. We seek to present poetic and atypical hybrid creations that provide moving, authentic performances. A part of the programming has already been planned by the Artistic Director and the rest of the programming will be established based on this call for projects.

Our festival headquarters is La Sala Rossa, a charming old venue that is neither a classic theatre stage nor a black box set-up. With its modest technical equipment and a seating arrangement that works well for a cabaret set-up of 220 seats, the venue offers the opportunity for artists to be in close proximity with the audience. Phénomena Festival usually hosts one presentation per show at Sala Rossa, and we welcome solos, small groups, collectives, etc. We also host shared evenings, composed of short-form performances by different artists.

We are on the lookout for interdisciplinary creations that are past the workshop phase, but that have not necessarily been widely distributed. It is essential for us to see the work of artists we believe to be a good fit for the Festival; as such, our programming cycle has expanded to two years. We strongly encourage artists to present their projects in advance and to invite us to witness new steps along the way. This process will help us give artists the support they need and will ensure the consistency of our programming.

Faithful to its mission, Phénomena is interested in presenting diverse artists, including Indigenous artists, People of Color, LGBTQQIP2SAA, or persons with disabilities. Unfortunately La Sala Rossa is difficult to access for people with reduced mobility, but we are happy to work with other, more accessible venues. Feel free to share with us your ideas or suggestions.

We are open to receiving proposals from outside Québec; however, due to our modest budget, we ask international/out-of-province artists to mobilize resources and contribute to travel expenses.

Our theme for 2019 is Transmission, a concept we believe to be intrinsically linked to gathering and sharing. As such, we are looking for creation proposals that bring together artists from different communities and/or of different generations, and that create space for collaboration amongst them. In 2020 our theme is Generosity, one aptly named to honor artists who have often worked behind the scenes, as well as honor creators/designers, artistic organizers, and well-seasoned artists who have given much to their communities and who have much to give still.

Send us your proposal which must include:

  • CV or description of your company;
  • Project description (2 pages maximum), including spatial and technical needs, confirmed collaborators, duration of performance, and a list of resources already secured;
  • Links to photos and videos illustrating your work;
  • Production timeline.

We also want to know why your creation project should be presented at Phénomena in particular. We are driven by an artistic mission and seek projects that are in line with this mission and will also help the Festival evolve. Applications may be written in French or English and performed in any language.

Please take note that we will have another call for projects for the Phenomenal Parade taking place on October 5th 2019!

Send your completed proposal to artistic director D. Kimm at d.kimm@electriques.ca and executive assistant Charlie Julien at admin@electriques.ca. For any questions and additional information, please contact Charlie Julien by email or by phone at 514-495-1515.

To download the PDF version of our call for projects:

Deadline: February 1, 2019

Nouvelle

Appel à projets: Festival Phénomena 2019

Jeudi 6 décembre 2018
7648

Appel à projets
Festival Phénomena — 15 au 26 octobre 2019

Direction artistique: D. Kimm

Date de tombée: 1er février 2019
Thème Phénomena 2019: Transmission
Thème Phénomena 2020: Générosité

Phénomena est un festival interdisciplinaire et bilingue dont l’objectif est de mettre en valeur des artistes novateurs, inclassables et extravagants. Le Festival présente des cabarets, des performances fantaisistes et théâtrales, des spectacles avec projections, des happenings, de la danse performative, des installations et des événements éclatés et poétiques. La 8e édition de Phénomena aura lieu du 15 au 26 octobre 2019. Voir des extraits de la dernière édition.

L’expérimentation et la prise de risques sont au coeur de notre travail. Phénomena s’intéresse aux artistes professionnels qui ont une démarche très personnelle, qu’ils soient émergents ou confirmés, et aux compagnies indépendantes et anticonformistes. Nous offrons une tribune aux artistes qui prennent des risques, qui sont rigoureux et qui se remettent en question. Nous présentons des créations hybrides, poétiques et hors-normes, qui demeurent touchantes et authentiques. Une partie de la programmation est déjà planifiée par la directrice artistique et le reste se fera à la suite de l’appel à projets.

Notre quartier général est La Sala Rossa, une salle charmante et ancienne qui n’est ni un théâtre ni une boîte noire. C’est une salle modestement équipée sur le plan technique, qui se prête bien aux spectacles de style cabaret et peut accueillir autour de 220 spectateurs, ce qui permet une proximité avec le public. Les spectacles présentés à La Sala Rossa le sont souvent pour une seule représentation et regroupent plusieurs artistes. Nous avons aussi des soirées partagées au cours desquelles peuvent être présentées des courtes formes.

Nous sommes à la recherche de créations qui ont dépassé l’étape du laboratoire, sans nécessairement avoir connu une large diffusion. Il nous apparaît essentiel de voir le travail des artistes que nous programmons, c’est pourquoi nous travaillons désormais sur un cycle de 2 ans. Nous vous encourageons à nous présenter vos projets à l’avance et à nous inviter à différentes étapes de votre processus. Ceci nous permettra de mieux vous épauler et de nous assurer de la cohérence dans notre programmation.

Fidèle à sa mission, Phénomena est intéressé à présenter les artistes de la diversité, qu’elle soit autochtone, multiculturelle, LGBTQQIP2SAA ou de personnes vivant avec un handicap. Malheureusement La Sala Rossa est difficilement accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite, mais nous avons d’autres lieux possibles. N’hésitez pas à nous faire part de vos idées.

Nous accueillons les propositions de l’extérieur du Québec, mais nos budgets sont modestes et vous devez pouvoir mettre en place des ressources pour contribuer aux frais de déplacement.

Avec la thématique Transmission en 2019, nous voulons travailler sur la rencontre et l’échange: à cet effet nous recherchons des propositions qui rassemblent et font collaborer des artistes issus de communautés différentes ou de générations différentes. Avec la thématique Générosité en 2020, nous voulons rendre hommage aux artistes qui travaillent souvent dans l’ombre, aux concepteurs, aux artistes organisateurs ou aux artistes ayant déjà une carrière bien entamée, qui ont beaucoup donné à la communauté et que nous souhaitons continuer de faire entendre.

Faites-nous parvenir votre dossier qui doit comprendre:

  • Un CV ou la description de votre compagnie;
  • La description du projet (2 pages), incluant le lieu et la forme envisagée, les collaborateurs confirmés, la durée, les besoins techniques et les ressources déjà mises en place;
  • Des liens vers des vidéos et photos illustrant votre travail;
  • Un échéancier avec vos étapes de travail.

Dites-nous aussi pourquoi votre projet devrait être présenté au Festival Phénomena. Nous avons une mission artistique et nous cherchons des projets qui s’inscrivent dans cette mission et qui peuvent faire évoluer le Festival. Nous acceptons les dossiers rédigés en français et en anglais et joués dans toutes les langues.

Attention, nous aurons un autre appel à projets pour la Parade Phénoménale qui aura lieu le 5 octobre 2019!

Faites parvenir votre dossier à D. Kimm, directrice artistique à d.kimm@electriques.ca et à Charlie Julien, adjoint à la direction à admin@electriques.ca. Si vous avez des questions, contactez Charlie Julien par courriel ou au 514-495-1515.

Pour télécharger l’appel à projets en version PDF:

Date de tombée: 1er février 2019